Monday, October 27: Briefly on the Shouting and Eye-Rolling

Let’s get this out of the way early in the day: the beat reporter involved in the Zorn blow-up was Ryan O’Halloran of the Washington Times, and he has a full account of the incident on the paper’s Redskins 360 blog.

Here’s the crucial part:

Zorn thought the subject was about the previous drive (which ended with a Shaun Suisham missed field goal) and his use of timeouts. At the time, I had no idea what he was talking about.

Anyway, I tried to re-phase it more clearly but to no avail. Another reporter asked it more bluntly and Zorn answered.

And I rolled my eyes out of frustration that it took 3-4 questions for us to figure out what sequence he was talking about.

Zorn didn’t like this — obviously. I told him we could chat afterward and that was that. We chatted, looked at the play by play sheet and got on the same page.

This squares with the accounts I was hearing last night (although, unlike O’Halloran, I have since seen the footage and understand why people thought it was more dramatic), and I’m sure everything is square between the two. But if it isn’t and today’s press conference turns into a knock-down drag-out cage match, I’ll do my best to give detailed reports.

2 Responses

  1. Zorn is awesome.

  2. something wrong with the link above – “full account of incident”

Leave a Reply

