Redskins @ Lions – Very Quick Update Off the Plane

I don’t have a whole lot of details — the buses roll for the airport one hour after the final gun of away games, which makes that hour a very hectic one — but here’s some answers to the two most commonly received questions: Clinton Portis has an ankle sprain; he was walking around perfectly well and seemed outwardly fine in the locker room. Santana Moss has a hamstring of some kind, and was also walking around just fine. We’ll know more about both guys tomorrow.

And I missed Zorn’s grumpiness entirely, but from what I heard it was just a miscommunication between him and one of the beat writers (I haven’t heard which one). The people who were in the room seemed to think that it was a really minor event, although the emails I’ve been getting lead me to believe it’s coming across much more dramatically on the screen. I’ll have more on this tomorrow if I can track it down.

Also, Dan Steinberg has the lowdown on the Zorn/Portis exchange during the game, which should answer the questions about that. More on everything tomorrow, I’m sure.

10 Responses

  1. I have the video of Zorn getting pissed on my youtube page!

    Check it out!

    Let everybody see it!

  2. All good news…thanks for the quick update, and keep on doing what you do- it is the best ive seen in a long time

  3. Why such conservative play calling? Clinton Boo-Hoo Portis pull a Hurricane Tantrum and we have to run downs 1 and 2 for the balance of the game. He should take a que from his “U” mate, Moss who did whatever he had to and help the team win!

    Sickens me, the guy is great, but his head and stupidity always get in the way of his greatness. Just shut up and do what Coach Z tells you to do!

    Come on Coach Z, open it up a little, as a fan, this playing not to lose at the end of games is killing me, let’s blow some folks out every once and a while!

  4. I really want confirmation on the beat reporter who got into it with Zorn. Because Zorn was VERY unhappy. Pounded the podium and commented on eye rolling.

  5. shaq, do we really need confirmation?

    I’m sure it’s who we think it is.

  6. Thanks Matt for the updates. It’s too bad you missed what happened at the conference. I would have liked to hear what was going on. I hope it doesn’t turn Zorn off of doing what he’s been doing at the podium, because as a fan I love the stuff he talks about, I learn a lot about what was going on throughout the game and how he’s thinking, and I think it’s great that he’s as open as he is.

  7. Yeah, the highlights on NBC pretty much consisted of Zorn getting angry. Seemed like the kinda of thing that ends up in a coors commercial. I instantly thought it was Jlac so I would like confirmation to be fair to him if it wasn’t. And it’s ironic that JZ talked about telling rookies that they’re only half way through – and seeing their eyes get big kinda thing – guess that goes for rook head choaches too! Must be exhausting dealing with the team, game plan, and press.

  8. So I wish I could have seen what everyone is talking about with Coach Zorn, unfortunately I couldn’t even watch the game. For some reason AFN was only showing the Eagles vs. Falcons and Cardinals vs. Panthers, and my internet access is very limited over here in Fallujah, Iraq. I am a season ticket holder and lifetime Redskins fan. Unlike the Canadian Skins fans (and no matter why you are a Skins fan, if you are a Skins fan then you are ok with me) I was born into the Redskin’s nation. My great grandfather was a D.C. police officer and played the trumpet in the Redskins’ band. Of course I can relate to the Canadians in one way, I grew up near Buffalo and I have been to Canada on many occasions, but typically only to partake in the enjoyment of their fine alcoholic beverages. So needless to say, Super Bowl XXVI was very special for me. I’ll be home by the end of the year so I am expecting the Skins’ to get home field advantage in the playoffs, I will need to be there to make up for the fact that I am missing all of these games and everything that goes with it. Hail to the Redskins’!

    P.S. This is only for Redskins’ employees and/or officials. I am halfway done with my Master’s in Sports Management and I would like to work with the Skins…..:). I am serious. I’ll start at the bottom and work my way up. I just want to be a part of the Redskins family. Hail!

  9. So I wish I could have seen what everyone is talking about with Coach Zorn, unfortunately I couldn’t even watch the game. For some reason AFN was only showing the Eagles vs. Falcons and Cardinals vs. Panthers, and my internet access is very limited over here in Fallujah, Iraq. I am a season ticket holder and lifetime Redskins fan. Unlike the Canadian Skins fans (and no matter why you are a Skins fan, if you are a Skins fan then you are ok with me) I was born into the Redskin’s nation. My great grandfather was a D.C. police officer and played the trumpet in the Redskins’ band. Of course I can relate to the Canadians in one way, I grew up near Buffalo and I have been to Canada on many occasions, but typically only to partake in the enjoyment of their fine alcoholic beverages. So needless to say, Super Bowl XXVI was very special for me. I’ll be home by the end of the year so I am expecting the Skins to get home field advantage in the playoffs, I will need to be there to make up for the fact that I am missing all of these games and everything that goes with it. Hail to the Redskins!

    P.S. This is only for Redskins’ employees and/or officials. I am halfway done with my Master’s in Sports Management and I would like to work with the Skins…..:). I am serious. I’ll start at the bottom and work my way up. I just want to be a part of the Redskins family. Hail!

  10. 6-2 and people are still complaining, wow!

    As a fan all you have to worry about is the W-L columns. Leave the play calling and everything else to the coach.

Leave a Reply

