Video Jason Campbell Quiets The Crowd Effectively, Is Appropriately Auburn

I mentioned a couple of times during the Rams game just how disconcerting I found Video Jason Campbell and his efforts to quiet the crowd. What I didn’t notice at the time, because I was behind the soundproofed glass of the press box, was that Video Campbell was apparently very effective at his job.

“It worked,” said Fred Smoot. “Normally our crowd don’t be quiet for no reason, but they kinda shushed for that one. It was pretty cool … we’re all Madden fans, you know?”

Actual Jason Campbell seemed fairly pleased with his pixelated counterpart. “He’s pretty cool,” he said. And was the quieting motion good enough? “Oh, most definitely. Just seemed like the war eagle, you know?” The knowledge that Video Campbell is familiar with the symbol of Actual Campbell’s alma mater seemed to settle the subject for him.

Mike Sellers had some further thoughts. “Why is it always the quarterback? You need a more imposing type person,” he said. And the war eagle flapping? “It didn’t have enough style, it was too mechanical.” Well, what would you do, if it was Video Mike Sellers? “I’d be like, ‘Just SHUT UP!'” He laughed, then said, “You know, with the fans, it’s always nice to have that, but sometimes they get too excited and you can’t hear the plays.”

Sellers had one other concern. “There’s some people that don’t know football, when you’re out there just like this” — he flapped his arms elaborately — “some people don’t know that means quiet down. He might just be flapping his arms.”

LaRon Landry was also enthused about being the video embodiment of getting the crowd fired up for defense. “That’s pretty cool, man,” he said, “In the game I’m focused on the game, but I look up at the Jumbotron to see what’s going on and I see myself on there.”

I thought Marcus Washington — himself a pretty animated dude — might have been jealous, but he supported the choice of Video Landry. “He’s a hyped guy – Dirty Thirty, we call him,” Washington said.” He’s always full speed so he’s definitely a good guy to use for that.”

“If it was me,” he said, laughing, “I’d probably be jumping around doing something spastic. I’m a big spaz sometimes on the field.”

Todd Yoder was the only guy I asked about this who had no idea what I was talking about. “I don’t think I paid any attention to that,” he said, so I guess what really surprised me in all of this was just how much the guys actually notice the stuff on the stadium Jumbotron.

“Oh, yeah,” said Washington. “My favorite is the one from Gladiator. I get so hype when I see Russell Crowe get on his horse and say ‘At my signal, unleash hell.‘”

One interesting note, though, is that it’s not Jason Campbell’s voice shushing the crowd during the Video Campbell clip — it’s actually Brad Baker, of Redskins.com TV. This is a fact that Actual Campbell found mildly disappointing. “It’s not me, but it should be,” he said. “I could do that.” Then he proved it: “Shhhh.” I found it perfectly convincing, anyhow.


7 Responses

  1. I find the ‘Shhhhhhhh’ at the game extremly annoying. Again, the crowd is not loud, rather a dull roar. Don’t “shhhhhh’ me when I pay an arm and a leg to go to the games. It makes me feel like like I am in kindergarden again.

  2. I don’t think the implication is that you have to sit quietly with your hands folded. Talk to your buddies, or whoever is around you if you want. They are just trying to discourage a lot of shouting to help the signal calling on the field. I’m sure the noise of 95k+ people just moving around is quite impressive, so its never going to be completely silent. However, the easier it is for Jason to call signals and have his WR’s actually hear him, the better.

  3. Hey Dave,

    Do you realize that not shutting up affects the offense and the potentially the outcome of the game? You are in kindegarten if you don’t understand what ‘home field advantage’ is in a football game! If the fans are going to cheer while the team is on offense then it neutralizes ‘home field advantage’. What a tard! You’re the annoying one. If it weren’t for you, there would be no “SSSSHHHH’ graphic in the first place. Idiot.

  4. I bet Ole Dave Potts is probably actually “Joe the Plumber”. Stop wasting time and go do some last minute campaigning for Grandpa McCain.

  5. Yes, we need to be mindful when offense is on the field. Keep the noise at a lower decible. But I’m the first to admit when D is out there I get migrane headaches from screaming so loud. So lets remember to keep it down a few notches this sunday.

  6. It’s embarrassing to have to tell the fans to “shhhhh” during offensive plays. I know some fans paid a lot of money to go, but it’s not all about YOU! As a fan base, we support our team and when required, our team will use us as an advantage. Lets keep it loud when the D’s our there, and to a minimum when the O’s out there, fellas.

  7. Yeah the Redskins fans (like myself) should be quiet when on offense. If we’re sooo loud then Jason can’t hear the directions from the coach and the team might not hear Campbell or they might misunderstand him and they’ll probably throw an interception or make a fumble. That CAN’T happen at home.

Leave a Reply

