Redskins @ Panthers – First Quarter Technical Difficulty Thoughts

Here’s what’s interesting about the technical difficulties from this end: at the start, everything looked fine. The taped open ran as scheduled, the throw back to live coverage worked perfectly, and the game kicked off.

Just before kickoff, the production room got word through the phone AD that they had lost the HD signal at Comcast SportsNet in Bethesda. At that point, everyone went into action, isolating the problem as being with fiber optic line somewhere between Charlotte and Bethesda. Once this was clear, engineers purchased time on a satellite and ran lines to it to get the feed back up on air.

As you may have noticed if you’ve got HD, it’s a standard definition picture. This is because HD over satellite requires different equipment than HD over fiber. The engineers are on the phone with the fiber optic company pushing them to solve the break and restore the HD feed.

Engineer in Charge Ed Kizer is sitting near to where I am right now, and has offered to answer any questions anyone has about the problems. Just post them in the comments or feel free to email me.

He cannot, however, explain the performance of the team on the field.

19 Responses

  1. Matt, can you find out what the problem is between the Redskins, Comcast and DirecTV. I subscribe to DirecTV and get the regional sports package. Today, I got Comcast Sportsnet before the game, but I didn’t get the Redskins pre-game or the Carolina game. I only got a message saying “This program is not available in your areas (727).” I’ve heard from the DirecTV people that either the Redskins or Comcast want to charge extra, but that DirecTV is against that and that’s why they don’t show the Redskins stuff. During the week, I usually get everything on Comcast but Redskins Daily. So what’s up? Is Danny trying to nickel and dime us? I’ll understand if you’re too scared to lose your job by addressing this. ;)

  2. I just have a question. Whats the score?

  3. You don’t really want to know . .

  4. 34-0 Panthers at the half

  5. I don’t think the Redskins ever showed up. I think they got stuck at the local krispy kreme because they wanted a snack.

    Un-freakin-believable

  6. No, you REALLY don’t want to know.

  7. Lessee who they send in for the second half.
    I’m hoping it’s the “scrubs -vs- the scrubs” so we can have some fun!

  8. Technical difficulty was much better than this……

  9. HoyaSkin:

    Where are you located?

  10. Matt, I’m in Lake Tahoe

  11. Skins should have picked up Farve… Jason Campbell has no confidence and it shows!

  12. A lot of Skin fans have the same problem I have, so it’s not just me. It’s been going on for a few years.

  13. Wow… This is sick.

  14. I just have Jason Taylor is ok

  15. […] here in the NC market where almost everyone is a Panthers or Skins fan. Of course, it sounds like Comcast SportsNet had problems of their own back home, and at least I didn’t have to endure Patrick & […]

  16. That sucks about the score. I just hope Jason is ok.

  17. Hey Matt. Not a problem if you can’t answer the DirecTV question. That’s probably a matter well above the technician’s level. Maybe you could research it later. A lot of Skin fans all over over the country/world would probably be interested in an answer to that question.

    Anyway, I do have a more technical question for you about Redskins.comTV. I love all the interview videos they post on there. But then they usually post a portion of those same videos on their Nightly News clips and preface it with a Larry Michael introduction. That seems a bit redundant, unnecessary, a waste of time and often annoying. So much so that I usually don’t watch the Nightly News clips anymore. So, can you find out why they do that? Is that Larry Michael’s call? Do they do that because someone thinks we fans want to see Larry as much as we can? Who is in charge of the content of Redskins.comTV? Oh, I’m not a Larry hater. I think he does a pretty good job when he is interviewing someone or doing the game’s play-by-play. But he’s terrible when he’s allowed to do commentary and given free reign. I stopped listening to Redskins radio because there’s too much boring babble and not enough interesting substance. Just curious. Doesn’t seem like anyone is in charge in an oversight capacity.

  18. I’ll follow up on both these things this week.

Leave a Reply

