Putting the Redskins on TV: Meet Brad Baker

Because the Redskins produce the preseason games in-house, I thought this might offer a good opportunity to watch the entire production of a game, from the work done in the week running up to it all the way through to the actual broadcast itself. It’s the kind of thing I won’t necessarily be able to do in the regular season, as those games are produced by the network, and there’s no guarantee they’d be interested in having me follow along.

Brad Baker is the producer of the preseason games, and although I haven’t asked whether he’s fully INTERESTED in having me follow, he’s at least agreed to it.

Brad Baker, producer

Brad Baker, producer

Brad is a graduate of the North Carolina School of the Arts School of Filmmaking. He got his start as a development assistant in L.A. with the producer of the Rush Hour franchise, moved back to the actual video production side of things at Expert Insight, and began working with sports TV production at the NFL Network.

“I had wanted to get a full time job there, and they didn’t have anything. They asked if I wanted to produce some highlights, but I didn’t want to work on Sundays, because I didn’t want to not be able to be at home watching football. And they said, “Well, lucky you, because we’re doing this college football show,” so I was able to work there on Saturdays.”

Working at NFLN, he found that football and production was a perfect marriage for his skills, which brought him to the Redskins as a producer last year.

“I produced Redskins Late Night all last season,” he says, “and I won an Emmy for my work on the Sean Taylor memorial video ‘Remembering 21’.” This preseason’s Bills game marked his entry into the production of live broadcasts.

As usual in situations like this, I’m happy to bring any questions you have to the people involved. So if there’s anything you’re interested in knowing about broadcasting a live NFL game — if you have any questions for Brad, or Mike Patrick and Joe Theismann — please let me know, either via email or in the comments.

14 Responses

  1. Brad Baker is dreamy. That is all.

  2. hey matt,
    ask brad about magic tricks …seriously he does card tricks.

  3. I have a dumb question but I’ve been hearing this not only in the background of skins broadcasts but while watching other preseason games. There is what sounds like a school bell ringing in the background during portions of the broadcast. What the heck is it?! Like I said it’s not only been during Redskins games but other games as well.

  4. Will Theismann REALLY munch on the box?

    (Real question…do the broadcast guys get in any trouble for stuff like that?)

  5. what kind of camera do they use

  6. Oh and what Fps do they shoot at?

  7. I’m a lifelong DC area native and I’ve never had a compelling reason to support the Redskins… until now. I was once completely apathetic towards the game of football and sports in general, but now I will go to my grave singing “Hail to the Redskins” while wearing a custom Double-Zero jersey with “B. Baker” printed on the back.

    Yes, it is safe to say that this man, this giant, Brad Baker, has changed my life, and for the better. I will never be the same and I am eternally grateful for it.

  8. Does Brad know why preseason games on Comcast Sportsnet are blacked out in Pennsylvania? I get Comcast Cable in York County, PA, but when the Skins have been on, they’ve switched to a Fox Sports Regional feed. What’s up with that?

  9. Ask him why they keep splashing a PINK R (Redskins font) instead of burgundy in those quick scene changers. I noticed this last pre-season and it continues this year. I’ve seen it on 3 different TVs, so it’s not my settings; plus all the other colors are fine. It seems odd that they’d take one of the Redskins symbols and change the color to pink!

  10. @Steve:

    I’ll double-check for you, but I think York County is considered Ravens territory by the NFL, which probably contributes to the blackout issue if no local over-the-air channel has signed on to broadcast the game.

  11. Brad, as a film student I’m interested in knowing how old you are and what your salary was at your various stops in LA, NY and with the skins. C’mon tell us.

  12. […] work it all the way through to the actual broadcast. At Redskins Park, I’ve been meeting with producer Brad Baker. Also, part 2 and part […]

  13. […] work it all the way through to the actual broadcast. At Redskins Park, I’ve been meeting with producer Brad Baker. These are your questions for […]

  14. […] we need. We check to make sure we have all the videos we need from Larry Michael’s group – Brad Baker and Marc Dress and those guys. Everybody is in place and ready to go by 12:15 at the […]

Leave a Reply

