Redskins Watching Olympics

Among the Redskins, there are two major reactions to the Olympics. The first is exemplified by Todd Collins: “I’m watching when I have time. Maybe now that we’re done with two-a-days I’ll watch more.”

Others are not only engrossed, they can relate. “I’m glued to the TV watching some of the gymnastics,” says Santana Moss. “I was a flipper growing up. And I love watching track and field. That’s what I’m gonna pay attention to.”

When Moss watches track and field, he knows what to look for. “In ’98, I made to the Olympic trials in long jump. I jumped 26 something. I made it to nationals, and didn’t jump well in nationals, but my jump in the Big East championships qualified for the Olympic trials that year. I was pretty good in long jump and triple jump in college.”

“I never liked to run that much ā€“ I was better at jumping ā€“ but I ran the indoor 60 and won that a couple of years. Outdoor, my events were mostly the 4-by-1, the first leg, and long jump and triple jump.”

Chris Cooley has a similar reaction to a different event.

“I think I probably could’ve been an Olympic wrestler,” says Cooley, who was an undefeated state champion and All-American in wrestling in high school. I suggest that he probably made the more lucrative career decision, and he laughs. “Ha, yeah. Rulon Gardner probably isn’t doing so great now.”

(In fact, Rulon Gardner owns a very well-reviewed food shop in Afton, WY, which is just like being a multimedia star and Pro Bowl tight end.)

Matt Sinclair also relates to the athleticism of one of the summer events, just on a slightly different level. ” I swam and was a diver growing up. Springboard diving. We’d do flips and stuff in grade school. I could do about one and a half ā€¦ the degree of difficulty wasn’t too high.”

4 Responses

  1. Blogging about other men watching TV…. wow.

    That’s really fascinating. Can you tell me when Ethan Albright takes a crap? And when he does, will you check if his dump has a full head of red hair? If it does, put it out by the Juggs machine and have it load balls so Ethan has more time to watch Olympics.

    Then this blog will stay soooo f’ing interesting forever.

  2. contrary to “Stinky”, I appreciate local tidbits,,
    and his example does reveal a lot about his character…

    LOt;’s of us enjoy the commom things about the
    Redskins… It makes them more personable…

    thanks

  3. Does anyone notice the tiny smiley face in the top right of the webpage (in the gray area on the right).

  4. Nope… No smiley

Leave a Reply

