I’m Sorry, Ryan Boschetti.

I’m not going to lie: I don’t often have the occasion to mention Ryan Boschetti’s name. When reading the roster, I guess. Or if someone asked me who wears #73 for the Redskins, or what current Redskin defensive lineman went to UCLA. Not something that comes up very often, anyhow. Which turns out to be a really good thing, since I’ve apparently been mispronouncing his name for the last five years.

If you had asked me one of those questions before today, I would’ve said something that sounded like “Ryan Buh-SHET-ey.” This is wrong. Today I learned that his last name is more correctly pronounced “boss-SKET-tee.”

Fortunately, I did not find this out by calling him the wrong name to his face, which is all kinds of embarrassing. Instead, I learned it from the “Pronunciation Guide” section of the game packet put out by the Redskins PR department before each game.

This is the sort of thing that everyone in the building or the media room receives, but that the general public might never know about. It’s available as a downloadable PDF on the Gameday page of Redskins.com, and they’re always worth looking through. If nothing else, it’s a terrific tool for settling barstool arguments, and for gaining the moral high ground to criticize the people calling highlights when they pronounce “SWEE-zum” as “swee-SHAM,” for example, or “la-DELL” as, I guess, “ladle”.

The Jets edition of the game packet — which I can’t find online — has one as well. So I will never accidentally embarrass myself by mispronouncing Ropati Pitoitua any way other than Roe-PAH-tee Pit-toe-ee-two-ah. (Strangely, the Jets Pronunciation Guide does not clarify how to pronounce the name of their new quarterback, which is apparently not said as it’s spelled.)

(Posted at 1:40.)

6 Responses

  1. Cool- something really USEFUL!

    Our hometown boy Jordon Dizon made the roster for the Lions. The announcers call him Jordon DYE-zen. We have known him as Jordon Die-ZAHN his whole life.

    po-tat-oh, po-tay-toe ;-)

  2. “(Strangely, the Jets Pronunciation Guide does not clarify how to pronounce the name of their new quarterback, which is apparently not said as it’s spelled.)”

    Funny, but if you cant pronounce that name, you shouldnt be announcing football.

  3. Soo-ee-sham is SWEE-zum . cool.

    Met a guy named Eassie. EC? no. AC. Still working on that one.

  4. oh yeah – that drove me nuts when I first read the name… Fa-vre like a French word. Far-ve????

  5. The Jets got a new quarterback? Gee, I hadn’t heard about that. You’d think something like that would make the news. Anyone we know……..?

  6. WATCHING GAME TONIGHT AND SAW THAT BOSCHETTI WAS WITH WASHINGTON. AS OUR LAST NAME IS NOT OFTEN SEEN IT WAS QUITE A SURPRISE. WOULD LOVE TO FIND OUT ABOUT HIS CONNECTION WITH THE LAST NAME. YOU NEVER KNOW THAT HIS FAMILY MAY BE IN OUR FAMILY TREE.

Leave a Reply

