ZornToys: So Very Close to Slip-n-Slide

It was the first thing I saw when I went out to practice today: the legendary Coach Jim Zorn QB Training Slip-n-Slide.

So that was pretty exciting, and I will freely admit that I promptly started focusing on the QBs to the exclusion of just about everything else in the entire world. Jets circling to land at Dulles could have been dumping luggage on the other practice fields, and I would likely not have noticed. When the QBs finally moved toward the Slip-n-Slide, I was ready. I was THERE. I was Guy On The Spot.

Coach Zorn talked the QBs through the drill, Jason Campbell stepped up, went to slide, and … didn’t. Just didn’t go anywhere, really. It did not look like the carefree fun I always imagined the Slip-n-Slide drill to be.

I’m not quite sure what the problem was, and I wasn’t able to catch up with Coach afterward to ask. It seemed like the start of the slide wasn’t boggy enough, that not enough water had pooled, but whatever it was, that was the end of today’s effort toward slipping and sliding. Maybe tomorrow. I will live in hope.

8 Responses

  1. That looks awesome! Thanks for the post!

  2. yeah…well lets not injure any quarterbacks on botched attempts. I’m all for the good fun and keeping the players interested, but maybe test the thing on some interns first before we let our players try it out.

  3. I agree Todd

  4. Can we please refrain from using the phrase ZornToys when referring to football practice. It sounds like hes running a sex shop over there.

  5. I think that we needed a more hands on coach,,So we got it…Anything that will help Jason Im down for it…Cause as of last year jason campell is some dirt…he needs all the help he can get!!!!

  6. Todd and Steve: I have a better idea for testing the practice equipment. Let’s use young, enthusiastic first-time Redskin bloggers who just happen to be standing around looking for something to report. Who among us wouldn’t love such an EXPERIENTIAL report? I know I’d hang on every word.
    P.S. Your blogs are great, Matt. Keep up the good work.

  7. I would think that for a brand new HC, installing a brand new offense, he would make better use of the QB’s time, say by, oh, I don’t know…passing the ball to someone.

    P.S., u still suck.

  8. This should be tested by the cheerleaders first!

Leave a Reply

