Getting Ready For Games: Look, Vests

This is one of those things that seems supremely neat to me, working in Redskins Park, and that most of the people here view as at least a semi-routine thing.

With the first preseason game coming up this weekend, all those things that I never realized needed to be prepared are starting to be prepared. My ID has been Xeroxed a few times, tickets are being secured for people who got missed in the initial pass … and a big box of neon green vests showed up.

The box of vests.

The box of vests.

These are the vests that are going to be worn by the team’s on-the-field cameraman, although we’re not sure yet if it’s for video or still photogs. The neon green is to help prevent them from being run over after a play, and they’re color-coded for the various different responsibilities people have on the sidelines.

After the jump, PR intern Socrates (actually his real name) demonstrates what the vests look like when being worn.

Front of vest.

Front of vest.

Back of vest.

Back of vest.

Side of vest with velcro closures, demonstrated flight attendant style.

Side of vest with velcro closures, demonstrated flight attendant style.

5 Responses

  1. Fantastic stuff, Matt! Your blog is really interesting, educational and first class!

  2. “The neon green is to help prevent them from being run over after a play”

    ==

    uh, so something tells me that it does’t matter what color you’re wearing… if you’re going to get run over, you’re going to get run over…

  3. What the heck happened to the Training Camp Reports? Gary Fitzgerald hasn’t updated them since the 25th.

  4. “The neon green is to help prevent them from being run over after a play”

    *cough*cough*bull$#!t*cough*cough*

    The neon green is to PREVENT A REPEAT OF SPYGATE ever again.

  5. Hey Riggo,

    Unfortunately, I’m going to have to back off the Training Camp Reports for a bit…I have a LOT to do this week and I have to get the site ready for the Hall of Fame ceremony and the game, so as much as I’d like to continue with the camp reports, I have to back off. Covering 2-a-days takes up a huge chunk of my time each day, but I’ll try to continue when I can.

    (My last Training Camp Report was the last open practice on July 28, by the way.)

    Coaches are starting to install game plans and run actual plays, so I can’t go into much detail about the practices right now anyway.

    I’m still covering the team, so the site will be updated with the latest news.

Leave a Reply

