A Few of the New Guys on Yesterday’s Crowd

It’s probably pretty clear from the tenor of my Fan Appreciation Day posts that I was impressed by the number of people who showed up.

Yesterday\'s crowd.

Yesterday's crowd.

The fact that it turned out to be a record-breaking crowd made me feel a little better about that, but part of me still just felt like the new guy who doesn’t know what things are like around here.

With that in mind, I figured I’d go ask a few of the other new guys — guys who, unlike me, have actually played in front crowds for much of their lives — what they thought of the whole thing.

Colt Brennan signing for fans.

Colt Brennan signing for fans.

Colt Brennan, QB, Hawaii
It was crazy. I’ve never seen anything like that before. My first year at Hawaii, we were lucky to get 25,000 in our stadium, so to have 28,000 at a practice … that is just unbelievable.

Chad Rinehart, G/T, Northern Iowa
That was pretty crazy. My college stadium only seats 18,000, so having more than that just at a practice, it’s pretty nice to see the support.

Curtis Gatewood, LB, Vanderbilt
I guess I’m used to that, in the SEC, having a large crowd, but it was exciting. I heard we set record numbers yesterday.

Jason Goode, TE, Maryland
Lovin’ it. You got crowds out here, it’s a beautiful day. It’s lovely. I don’t think we got crowds like that at Maryland practices. Actually quite the opposite.

At least it wasn’t just me.

7 Responses

  1. Haha- first time for everything!
    It’s going to be a great year for the Redskins. :!:

  2. Enjoy the fan appreciation Colt & Company. They will certainly be rewarded for their support. Just like those of us back home…they believe!
    Aloha!
    Kekoa

  3. Just wait til they hear what 90,000 plus crazies sounds like!

  4. I agree with Sonny Fan, they haven’t seen or heard anything yet until they make it to FedEx field. It’s going to be crazy just for PRE-SEASON! That’s why I love this city and this team because we show unconditional love and support for the Burgundy and Gold that’s for sure. Redskins fans…WE ROCK!!!!

  5. I LOOOOVE OUR FANS.., WE HAVE 2 B THA BEST…

  6. Thanks,to all the redskins staff,especially Carly G. me and my son had a great time at camp this year.We drove from Hickory,N.C. and spent 3 days at training camp the players were signing lots helmets footballs and jerseys our home is beginning to look like a redskins shrine this our 5th year making the trip.Malcomb Kelly and Colt were great with the fans to be rookies.Til next year Go Skins

  7. Fan Day was awesome! We got in the first line around 8:00 in the morning and the next line around 11:00. It was super hot but I WOULD DO IT ALL OVER AGAIN BECAUSE LOVE THE SKINS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

